March 5, 2010

Randolph All-PBC, Ealey Named Freshman of Year

AIKEN, SC – The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2009-10 women’s basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Aiken, S.C., on the eve of the PBC Tournament semifinals, and North Georgia’s Whitney Randolph and Janyce Ealey picked up awards.

A Peach Belt All-Conference First-Team selection for the second straight year, Whitney Randolph was named the PBC Player of the Week twice this season and was second in the Peach Belt Conference at 17.8 points per game, while sitting third in rebounding at 9.6 boards per contest.

She had 12 double-doubles on the season, and was fourth in the league in free throw percentage at 77.2 percent. She had a season-high 32 points and 18 rebounds against Columbus State on February 6, and scored in double digits in all but one PBC contest this season.

Janyce Ealey was named Third-Team All-PBC and was awarded the Peach Belt Conference Freshman of the Year honor, the third North Georgia player to earn in the award in the last five seasons.

Ealey is in the top 10 in the Peach Belt Conference in scoring, averaging 13.7 points per game, the highest scoring mark for any freshman in the league. She had four double-doubles this season and is 14th in the league at 34.6 percent from behind the arc. The Carrollton, Ga., native had a career-high 25 points against UNC Pembroke on February 22, and scored in double digits in 17 games this season.

Columbus State’s Phebe Smith was named the PBC Player of the Year for the second time in a row, while Francis Marion’s Robin Colbert became the first Defensive Player of the Year, and Lander coach Kevin Pederson the PBC Coach of the Year.

The 2009-10 All-Conference team is listed below. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.




2010 Peach Belt Conference
Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Shannon Singleton-Bates, Francis Marion
Shannon McKever, Lander
Whitney Randolph, North Georgia
Phebe Smith, Columbus State
Teshymia Tillman, Clayton State

Second Team
Catherine Cain, USC Aiken
Eboni Fields, Francis Marion
Brittni Johnson, Lander
Chimere Jordan, GCSU
JaToya Kemp, UNC Pembroke

Third Team
Janyce Ealey, North Georgia
Alicia Lewis, Montevallo
Ciara Lyons, Lander
Antoinette Reames, GCSU
Tanisha Woodard, Clayton State

Player of the Year: Phebe Smith, Columbus State
Defensive Player of the Year: Robin Colbert, Francis Marion
Freshman of the Year: Janyce Ealey, North Georgia
Coach of the Year: Kevin Pederson, Lander