March 8, 2011

Carl Taylor Earns Peach Belt All-Conference Honors

AUGUSTA, GA – Senior Carl Taylor has been named to the 2010-11 Peach Belt All-Conference team announced from the league office last week, earning second-team honors for star-studded group.

As one of the premier shooters in the Peach Belt Conference, Carl Taylor erupted for over 400 points during his senior campaign to become the 5th leading scorer in the league at 16.5 points per game.

He had seven games with 20 points or more, including a season-high 31 points against Anderson University on December 15. He averaged 16.4 points per game in PBC games, including a season-high eight three-pointers against Francis Marion, followed by seven three-pointers in a win over Clayton State.

He was second in the league with 86 three-pointers made, averaging 3.3 buckets per game from long range. Five of his seven games of 20 points or more have come against Peach Belt Conference schools, including a season-high 26 points against Francis Marion on February 9.

Taylor shot 38-percent from behind the arc, 79-percent from the free throw line, and is averaged nearly 35 minutes per game on his way to All-Conference honors.

The 2010-11 Peach Belt All-Conference team was selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.


Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Phillip Brown, Georgia Southwestern
Timmy Downs, Clayton State
George Johnson, Augusta State
Franck Ndongo, Augusta State
Brandon Robinson, Clayton State

Second Team
Byron Faison, USC Aiken
Trayce Macon, Georgia Southwestern
Carl Taylor, North Georgia
Liki Turner, Francis Marion
Reece Wiedeman, Georgia College

Third Team
Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Antoine Davis, Montevallo
John Pietkiewicz, Flagler
Colin Slotter, Georgia Southwestern
Chris Vanlandingham, Armstrong Atlantic State

Freshman of the Year: Colin Slotter, Georgia Southwestern
Defensive Player of the Year: Alvin Brown, USC Aiken
Player of the Year: Phillip Brown, Georgia Southwestern
Coach of the Year: Mike Leeder, Georgia Southwestern