March 4, 2008

PBC Announces All-Conference team

Lady Saints only team with three players named to squad

DAHLONEGA, GA - The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2007-08 women's basketball All-Conference team on the eve of the PBC Tournament and a trio of Lady Saints received the honors.

Syretha Marble finished the 2007-08 season as the only player in the conference to average a double double. As a candidate for player of the year, she led the league in both points at 20.5 and rebounds at 10.0. Marble had five 30-point performances this season and is currently in the top ten in the nation in scoring and top 25 in rebounding. Marble had 16 double doubles to her credit on the season. She also ranks first in the conference in offensive rebounds and third in minutes per game.

Megan Huffman finished the season number seven in the conference in scoring at 15.6 points per game and averaged 4.4 rebounds per game. She recorded two double doubles on the year and made 126 free throws. Both Huffman and Marble were named to the PBC Preseason All-Conference team in October and lived up to the expectations, both finishing the season in the top seven in scoring.

Kourtney Singelton finished the season fourth in the Peach Belt Conference in scoring at 17.2 points per game and ranks in the top ten in rebounding at 7.2 boards per game. She recorded a pair of 30-point performances in conference play and had seven double doubles on the year.

North Georgia will enter the tournament as the #8 seed and face GCSU in their opening game at 3:00 p.m. Wednesday afternoon.

2008 Peach Belt Conference
Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

LaShonda Chiles, Lander
Tiara Good, Lander
Kaneetha Gordon, Armstrong Atlantic State
Maria Grimes, Columbus State
Megan Huffman, North Georgia
Meredith Legg, USC Aiken
Syretha Marble, North Georgia
Deo Ngulela, Augusta State
Shantel Ragin, Clayton State
Kourtney Singleton, North Georgia
Brittany Young, Francis Marion

Player of theYear: Tiara Good, Lander
Freshman of the Year: Dominique Huffin, GCSU
Coach of the Year: Heather Macy, Francis Marion