November 5, 2010

Trio of Lady Saints Named Peach Belt All-Conference

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference released the 2010 women's soccer All-Conference team at a banquet in Augusta on Friday afternoon and a trio of North Georgia players were named to the team as the Lady Saints prepare for the semifinals of the PBC Tournament.

Senior Casey Smith earned first-team honors, while Samantha Abrahart and Kelly Martin were named second-team as the first-ever PBC Fall Festival gets underway.

All-American and Preseason All-Conference selection Casey Smith separated herself as one of the best players in the country in 2010 as the senior broke the PBC's all-time assists record and currently leads the country in assists with 16. The two-time PBC Defender of the Week has five multiple assists games, including a pair of games with three assists, both coming in league action. She has one goal on the season in 21 shots, while 11 of her 15 assists on the year came during Peach Belt Conference contest. She leads the league in assists, assists per game, and anchors a defense that has six shutouts on the season.

Samantha Abrahart made a splash in the Peach Belt Conference in 2010, scoring a team-high 11 goals and adding six assists. She has played and started in all 18 games for the Lady Saints as a freshman and is fourth in the conference in goals, fourth in goals per game, tied for fifth in assists, and tied for fourth in total points. She has three games with multiple goals, including two of those coming against Peach Belt Conference opponents. Abrahart was named the PBC Offensive Player of the Week of October 5, as North Georgia earned their first-ever national ranking.

Kelly Martin has played and started in all 18 games for the Lady Saints at center back in 2010, logging 1550 minutes and playing the duration of the game in 12 of those contests. She has two goals, both coming against conference opponents, and leads a defense that has recorded five shutouts and outscored opponents 46-17. She is a 2010 PBC All-Academic award winner and leads a defense that is outscoring their opponent 48-20 on the season.

27 players were named to the first and second team, the squad was expanded by one spot due to a tie on the second team. For the first time, the PBC awarded co-Players of the Year as Clayton State's Cherie Sayon and Columbus State's Stephanie Lowery were tied in the number of votes received.  UNC Pembroke's Britney Bennett was named the Freshman of the Year and Armstrong Atlantic State's Eric Faulconer was named the Coach of the Year.

The Lady Saints now turn their attention to tonight's semifinal matchup against newly crowned PBC Regular Season Champion and top-seeded Armstrong Atlantic. Kickoff is set for 5:00 p.m. at Blanchard Woods Park.

The 2010 women's soccer all-conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team
Stephanie Parrish, Columbus State
Kristina Pascutti, Armstrong Atlantic State
Cherie Sayon, Clayton State
Anna Svensson, UNC Pembroke
Faye Corbett, UNC Pembroke
Stephanie Lowery, Columbus State
Morgan Mitchell, Armstrong Atlantic State
Kate Walton, Columbus State

Kelli Bahr, Armstrong Atlantic State
Kansas Bayly, Columbus State
Carey Patterson, Armstrong Atlantic State
Casey Smith, North Georgia

Britney Bennett, UNC Pembroke
Second Team

Samantha Abrahart, North Georgia
Christine Prince, Montevallo
Jamie Shaw, Lander
Nadima Skeff, Armstrong Atlantic State
Lindsay Zullo, Flagler
Karen Bonilla, Georgia College
Courtney Cawley, Armstrong Atlantic State
Asgerdur Palsdottir, Montevallo
Natalia Valentine, Clayton State

Fanny Forsman, UNC Pembroke
Kim Gaughan, Columbus State
Kelly Martin, North Georgia
Jordan McKenzie, Columbus State

Willi Babillis, Columbus State

Co-Players of the Year:
Stephanie Lowery, Columbus State
Cherie Sayon, Clayton State

Freshman of the Year:
Britney Bennett, UNC Pembroke
Coach of the Year:
Eric Faulconer, Armstrong Atlantic State